top of page
Tim Corbett giving a speech at the Edith Saurer Fonds award ceremony.

Biografie

Ich bin preisgekrönter Historiker, Autor, Übersetzer und Lektor und lebe in Wien, Österreich.  

 

Ich wurde 1986 in München als Sohn eines irisch-britischen Vaters und einer deutschen Mutter geboren. Ich ging zuerst in Deutschland und später in Belgien zur Schule, bevor ich mein Studium im Vereinigten Königreich absolvierte. Wien ist seit einigen Jahren meine Wahlheimat, wobei ich zwischendurch einige Jahre in den USA verbrachte. Englisch und Deutsch sind meine Muttersprachen, ich spreche auch etwas Niederländisch und Französisch und habe Lesekompetenzen in Hebräisch und Jiddisch.

Ich promovierte 2015 an der Universität Lancaster in Geschichte. Seitdem hatte ich verschiedene internationale Fellowships inne. Meine Forschungs- und Publikationstätigkeit konzentriert sich auf die jüngere österreichische Geschichte und das ehemalige Habsburgerreich, mit besonderem Schwerpunkt auf der jüdischen Geschichte Wiens. Ich bin derzeit als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter mit der Österreichischen Akademie der Wissenschaften in Wien affiliiert und bin ständiges Mitglied des Wissenschaftlichen Beirats der Österreichischen Gesellschaft für Exilforschung.

Ebenso bin ich tätig als wissenschaftlicher Übersetzer und Lektor in Bereichen mit Bezug auf Geschichte und Zeitgeschehen in Europa, Amerika, dem Nahen Osten und im globalen Kontext, in langjähriger Zusammenarbeit mit renommierten Institutionen und individuellen Wissenschaftler:innen, vorrangig in Europa und den Vereinigten Staaten.  

In meiner Freizeit unterstütze ich den Verein Steine der Erinnerung bei der Pflege von Gedenksteinen für Opfer des Holocaust im gesamten Stadtbereich Wiens. Ansonsten koche und reise ich gerne und erkunde idyllische Landschaften mit meiner serbischen Straßenhündin Lily.

Tim Corbett on a public square in Vienna with his Serbian rescue dog Lily
bottom of page

top of page
Tim Corbett giving a speech at the Edith Saurer Fonds award ceremony.

About

I am an award-winning historian, writer, translator, and editor based in Vienna, Austria. 

 

I was born in Munich, Germany in 1986 to an Irish/British father and a German mother. I attended school first in Germany and later in Belgium before completing my studies in the United Kingdom. Vienna has been my adoptive home for a number of years now, with a couple of years in the interim spent in the United States. English and German are my first languages, I also speak some conversational Dutch and French, and I have reading abilities in Hebrew and Yiddish.

I completed a PhD in History at the University of Lancaster in 2015 and have absolved various international fellowships since then. My research and publishing activities focus on modern Austrian history and the former Habsburg Empire, with a particular focus on Vienna’s Jewish history. I am currently affiliated as a research associate with the Austrian Academy of Sciences in Vienna and serve as a permanent member of the Academic Advisory Board of the Austrian Society for the Study of Exile.

I also work as an academic translator and copy-editor in fields relating to European, American, Middle Eastern, and general world history and current events, with several years of experience working with major institutions and individual scholars, primarily across Europe and the United States. 

In my free time, I assist the Association Stones of Remembrance to maintain memorial plaques for victims of the Holocaust around the city of Vienna. Otherwise, I enjoy cooking, travelling, and exploring bucolic landscapes with my Serbian rescue dog, Lily.

Tim Corbett on a public square in Vienna with his Serbian rescue dog Lily
bottom of page